Being Present

I read this blog by this inspiring and insightful woman named Andie.  I found it though Pinterest, where I find all things fabulous lately, because of a healthy recipe someone pinned.  You see, Andie, lost a tremendous amount of weight in her early 20’s merely by adapting her lifestyle to include exercise and healthy food choices. 

That’s inspiring in itself, but the thing I enjoy most about her blog is when she responds to a reader’s question, and though it may be addressing their question, which usually is about weight loss, I find her words telling me something else entirely that I also needed to hear. 

Take a segment of yesterday’s entry for example:

Stay present.
Take each day, each minute as its own individual moment. Do not think too far back, do not think too far ahead.

But one book, not specifically related to weight loss, really helped me to become more mindful: “The Power of Now” by Eckhart Tolle. This book showed me how crucial it is to stay in the present moment at all times. So many of the pains we feel, the discomfort of being, is related to thinking of the past or planning for the future. We feel overwhelmed by all we have to do, all we have to deal with in life, and we spend lots of energy rehashing the past and thinking about ways to be better. The key is to just stop that. Understandably, not easy to do. But it’s possible. You’ll find yourself less overwhelmed by the big picture- all the weight we have to lose, all the exercise we have to do today and tomorrow and the next day and the next after that. By just focusing on the minute by minute (with a gentle mind to the future and an acknowledgment of our history), we just deal with ‘what is.’

I suppose this speaks to me because I often find myself looking back or worrying about what’s yet to come.  Remembering good times, questioning my actions, wishing back a mistake or moment or encounter, wondering about my career path, worrying about my future with this fella or that friendship, worrying about my financial independence.  There’s always something out there to take my mind off the right now, the time that matters most.  Where I am, what I’m doing, who I’m with RIGHT NOW.  That’s what’s most important. 

I need to remember this Bible verse:  “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself.  Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.” Matthew 6:34

 

Leave a Reply

